Home Tags Posts tagged with "Rushi Sunak"

Rushi Sunak

As the countdown to the G20 Summit 2023 in New Delhi continues, preparations are in full swing, with the Indian government leaving no stone unturned to ensure the event’s success. With nearly 40 world leaders and dignitaries expected to attend this high-profile international gathering at the newly constructed ‘Bharat Mandapam’ in Pragati Maidan, a comprehensive list of Union ministers assigned to welcome these global guests has been unveiled.

In a recent cabinet meeting, Prime Minister Narendra Modi provided vital guidance to his ministers, emphasizing the importance of hosting this prestigious event and ensuring that visiting dignitaries have a seamless experience. Here are the key highlights of the preparations and the list of ministers designated to receive world leaders:

Security in the National Capital:
The national capital is currently under tight security ahead of the G20 Summit, which is scheduled for this weekend. The event venue, ‘Bharat Mandapam’ in Pragati Maidan, has been fortified to guarantee the safety and security of all attendees.

Ministerial Assignments:
A select group of Union ministers has been entrusted with the responsibility of welcoming world leaders as they arrive in India. The list, revealed by news agency ANI, outlines the ministers assigned to specific dignitaries:

US President Joe Biden: Minister of State for Civil Aviation VK Singh will extend a warm welcome to President Biden, who is expected to arrive at 6.55 pm (tentative time) on Friday.

UK PM Rishi Sunak: Minister of State for Consumer Affairs Ashwini Kumar Choubey will receive Prime Minister Sunak as he lands in Delhi at 1.40 pm.

Japan PM Fumio Kishida: Minister Choubey will also welcome Prime Minister Kishida, who is scheduled to arrive in India by 2.15 pm.

Bangladesh PM Sheikh Hasina: Minister of State for Railways Darshana Jardosh will receive Prime Minister Hasina, who is set to reach New Delhi at 12.30 pm on Friday.

Italy PM Giorgia Meloni: Minister of State for Agriculture Shobha Karadlaje will welcome Prime Minister Meloni, who is expected to arrive in Delhi at 6.20 am on Friday.

China’s Premier Li Qiang: Minister VK Singh will receive Premier Li Qiang, representing Chinese President Xi Jinping. Li Qiang is anticipated to reach the national capital at 7.45 pm on Friday.

Australian PM Anthony Albanese: Minister of State for Electronics and Information Technology Rajeev Chandrasekhar will extend greetings to Prime Minister Albanese, arriving at 6.15 pm on Friday.

French President Emmanuel Macron: Minister of State for Commerce and Industry Anupriya Patel will welcome President Macron, who is scheduled to arrive in New Delhi at 12.35 pm on Saturday.

German Chancellor Olaf Scholz: Minister of State for MSME Bhanu Pratap Singh Verma will receive Chancellor Scholz, arriving at 8 am on Saturday.

UAE President HH Sheikh Mohamed Bin Zayed Al Nahyan: Minister of State for Home Affairs Nityanand Rai will extend a warm welcome to President Al Nahyan as he arrives in the national capital at 8 pm on Friday.

Tech and Translation Assistance:
In line with modern technology, Prime Minister Modi encouraged his ministers to utilize the G20 India mobile app during interactions with foreign dignitaries. The app boasts an instant translation feature that covers all Indian languages and those of G20 nations, making communication smoother and more accessible.

As the world eagerly anticipates the G20 Summit in New Delhi, India is poised to showcase its hospitality, diplomacy, and commitment to addressing pressing global issues during this prestigious international event. The Union ministers assigned to receive world leaders will play a crucial role in setting the tone for constructive discussions and collaborations that will shape the future.

0 comment
0 FacebookTwitterPinterestEmail

As the G20 Summit approaches, Delhi is bustling with preparations to welcome world leaders for the event on September 9 and 10. Anticipating the participation of around 29 heads of state, along with senior officials from the European Union, representatives from guest countries, and leaders from 14 international organizations, the city has designated more than 30 hotels across Delhi-NCR to accommodate the dignitaries.

Notably, United States President Joe Biden is expected to stay at the ITC Maurya Sheraton. Comprehensive security arrangements are in place, including Secret Service commandos stationed on each floor and a specialized elevator reserved for President Biden’s use, taking him directly to his room on the 14th floor. Approximately 400 rooms at the hotel have been secured for President Biden and his accompanying staff.

Chinese President Xi Jinping’s residence for the summit will be the Taj Palace Hotel, while UK Prime Minister Rishi Sunak will be hosted at the Shangri-La Hotel. French President Emmanuel Macron has chosen the Claridges Hotel, and Australian Prime Minister Anthony Albanese will be accommodated at the Imperial Hotel.

The summit will witness various delegations spread across different hotels. The Turkish group will find their lodgings at the Oberoi Hotel, while representatives from Mauritius, Netherlands, Nigeria, and Spain will be situated at Le Meridien. Both the Chinese and Brazilian groups will be hosted at the Taj Palace Hotel, and the Indonesian and Australian teams will be housed at the Imperial Hotel. Delegates from the UK and Germany will stay at the Shangri-La Hotel.

The Hyatt Regency has been selected to accommodate the Italian and Singaporean teams, while the US group will be lodged at the Maurya Sheraton. The Lodhi Hotel will be the base for the Omani delegation, the Claridges Hotel will host the French team, and the Grand Hyatt in Gurugram will provide accommodations for the Bangladesh group. The Lalit Hotel will cater to both the Canadian and Japanese delegations, and the Oberoi Gurugram will house the Korean delegation. The Egyptian delegation will be situated at the ITC Sheraton in Saket, the Leela Hotel in Gurugram will be the residence for the Saudi Arabian delegation, and the UAE delegation will be hosted at the Taj Mahal Hotel in Delhi.

The participating hotels in Delhi include ITC Maurya, Taj Mansingh, Taj Palace, Hotel Oberoi, Hotel Lalit, The Lodhi, Le Meridien, Hyatt Regency, Shangri-La, Leela Palace, Hotel Ashoka, Eros Hotel, The Surya, Radisson Blu Plaza, JW Marriott, Sheraton, The Leela Ambience Convention, Hotel Pullman, Rosette Hotel, and The Imperial.

In the National Capital Region (NCR), accommodations for attendees will be provided at The Vivanta in Surajkund, ITC Grand in Gurugram, Taj City Centre in Gurugram, Hyatt Regency in Gurugram, The Oberoi in Gurugram, WestINN in Gurugram, and Crown Plaza in Greater Noida.

0 comment
0 FacebookTwitterPinterestEmail

Our News Portal

We provide accurate, balanced, and impartial coverage of national and international affairs, focusing on the activities and developments within the parliament and its surrounding political landscape. We aim to foster informed public discourse and promote transparency in governance through our news articles, features, and opinion pieces.


Subscribe my Newsletter for new blog posts, tips & new photos. Let's stay updated!

Laest News

@2023 – All Right Reserved. Designed and Developed by The Parliament News

Are you sure want to unlock this post?
Unlock left : 0
Are you sure want to cancel subscription?
Update Required Flash plugin