Home Blog Sunrisers Hyderabad’s Travis Head Blazes Past RCB with Monumental Knock

Sunrisers Hyderabad’s Travis Head Blazes Past RCB with Monumental Knock

by theparliamentnews.com
0 comment

Breathtaking display of power-hitting, Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH) etched their name in the annals of cricket history by posting the highest-ever total in the Indian Premier League (IPL) on Monday, April 15, 2024. Challenged to set a formidable target by Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) at the iconic M. Chinnaswamy Stadium, SRH, led by captain Pat Cummins, embraced the opportunity and amassed a colossal 287/3 in their allotted 20 overs.

The SRH batting onslaught was spearheaded by an electrifying partnership between the unheralded Indian talent Abhishek Sharma and the celebrated Australian cricketer Travis Head, known for his heroics in the 2023 ODI World Cup. Sharma’s quickfire 34 off 22 deliveries combined with Head’s blistering 102 off just 41 balls laid a robust foundation, propelling SRH to 108 runs in a mere 49 deliveries. Following Sharma’s departure, South African batsman Heinrich Klaasen further fueled the onslaught with a brisk 67 off 31 deliveries, complementing Head’s explosive innings.

As SRH’s batters continued their relentless assault, RCB’s bowlers found themselves under immense pressure, with fielders scrambling for cover amidst the onslaught of boundaries and sixes. Aiden Markram, another stalwart from South Africa, contributed a brisk 32 off 17 deliveries, while young Indian talent Abdul Samad’s unbeaten 37 off just 10 balls added to RCB’s woes, culminating in an unbeaten fourth-wicket stand of 56 runs in a mere 19 balls. Earlier, Markram and Klaasen had already notched up an impressive 66-run partnership in just 27 deliveries.

The 20-over innings, embellished with 15 extras, including 12 wides, witnessed a staggering 22 sixes, setting a new record in the IPL, surpassing RCB’s previous record against the now-defunct Pune Warriors India in 2013.

RCB’s bowling attack, despite their efforts, struggled to contain the relentless onslaught from SRH’s batters. Reece Topley, Yash Dayal, Lockie Ferguson, and Vijaykumar Vyshak conceded more than 50 runs each, while the figures of Will Jacks provided some respite with 0/32 in three overs. However, Mahipal Lomror’s one-over experiment resulted in conceding 18 runs, further adding to RCB’s woes.

Ultimately, SRH’s record-breaking total was aided, in part, by RCB’s bowlers, who endured a challenging outing on the field. This remarkable feat comes in the wake of SRH’s recent dominance, where they amassed 277/3 against five-time champions Mumbai Indians, underscoring their batting prowess in the IPL.

You may also like

Leave a Comment

Our News Portal

We provide accurate, balanced, and impartial coverage of national and international affairs, focusing on the activities and developments within the parliament and its surrounding political landscape. We aim to foster informed public discourse and promote transparency in governance through our news articles, features, and opinion pieces.


Subscribe my Newsletter for new blog posts, tips & new photos. Let's stay updated!

Laest News

@2023 – All Right Reserved. Designed and Developed by The Parliament News

Are you sure want to unlock this post?
Unlock left : 0
Are you sure want to cancel subscription?
Update Required Flash plugin