Home Tags Posts tagged with "Lok Sabha polls"

Lok Sabha polls

The final phase of the 18th Lok Sabha elections commenced at 7 am on Saturday, marking the conclusion of India’s grand democratic exercise to elect 543 representatives for the 18th Lok Sabha. This phase encompasses 57 constituencies, including 41 general seats, three reserved for Scheduled Tribes (ST), and 13 for Scheduled Castes (SC), spanning eight states and Union Territories. Additionally, voters in 42 assembly constituencies of the Odisha Legislative Assembly are also casting their ballots today.

The states and union territories participating in this seventh phase are Bihar (8 out of 40 seats), Himachal Pradesh (4 out of 4 seats), Jharkhand (3 out of 14 seats), Odisha (6 out of 21 seats), Punjab (13 out of 13 seats), Uttar Pradesh (13 out of 80 seats), West Bengal (9 out of 42 seats), and the Chandigarh Union Territory. As the polling concludes, it will mark the end of the world’s largest electoral marathon, which began on April 19 and has already covered six phases and 486 Lok Sabha seats.

Key Candidates in the Spotlight

Several prominent candidates are in the fray during this final phase. Prime Minister Narendra Modi seeks a third term representing Uttar Pradesh’s Varanasi, facing off against Congress’ Ajay Rai. Former Union Minister and BJP stalwart Ravi Shankar Prasad is contesting from Patna Sahib. Actress Kangana Ranaut has entered the political arena from Mandi, Himachal Pradesh. Other notable candidates include Congress’ Manish Tewari from Chandigarh, Samajwadi Party leader Afzal Ansari from Ghazipur, and Bhojpuri star Pawan Singh from Karakat.

Key Facts About Phase 7

  • Voter Demographics: Over 10.06 crore voters are eligible to vote in this phase, comprising 5.24 crore males, 4.82 crore females, and 3,574 third-gender electors.
  • Polling Infrastructure: Approximately 10.9 lakh polling officials are on duty to facilitate voting across around 1.09 lakh polling stations.

High-Profile Contests

All eyes are particularly on Uttar Pradesh’s Varanasi and Himachal Pradesh’s Mandi constituencies, both strongholds for the BJP. Prime Minister Narendra Modi’s candidature from the historic temple town of Varanasi is a significant highlight. In Mandi, actress Kangana Ranaut’s entry into politics has generated considerable interest and media attention.

Campaigning and Security

Campaigning for the seventh phase concluded on Friday, May 30. The Election Commission has ensured tight security arrangements across all polling stations to ensure a smooth and fair voting process. The weather department has also issued advisories to help manage voter turnout, given the summer heat.

As India wraps up its largest democratic exercise, the nation eagerly awaits the results, which will determine the next government and the future course of the country’s political landscape. With a mix of seasoned politicians and new entrants, the final phase promises to be a climactic end to a closely watched election season.

0 comment
0 FacebookTwitterPinterestEmail

Lucknow, Uttar Pradesh – A voter turnout of 12.89% was recorded by 9 AM in Uttar Pradesh as polling commenced for the fifth phase of the Lok Sabha elections, covering 14 constituencies. The voting process, which began at 7 AM, will continue until 6 PM.

Constituency Turnouts

The Election Commission reported varying voter turnouts across the constituencies by 9 AM:

  • Amethi: 13.45%
  • Banda: 14.57%
  • Barabanki: 12.73%
  • Faizabad: 14%
  • Fatehpur: 14.28%
  • Gonda: 9.55%
  • Hamirpur: 13.61%
  • Jalaun: 12.80%
  • Kaisarganj: 13.04%
  • Kaushambi: 10.49%
  • Lucknow: 10.39%
  • Mohanlalganj: 13.86%
  • Rae Bareli: 13.60%

In the Lucknow East assembly bypoll, the voter turnout stood at 10.88% by 9 AM.

High-Profile Contenders

Among the notable candidates in this phase are Defence Minister Rajnath Singh, Women and Child Development Minister Smriti Irani, Minister of State for Housing and Urban Affairs Kaushal Kishor, Minister of State for Consumer Affairs Sadhvi Niranjan Jyoti, and Minister of State for MSME Bhanu Pratap Singh Verma. Congress leader Rahul Gandhi is contesting from Rae Bareli, a constituency previously represented by his mother and former party president Sonia Gandhi.

Voter Demographics and Candidates

Over 2.71 crore voters are eligible to participate in this phase, with 144 candidates contesting across the 14 constituencies. The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) has fielded 11 of its sitting MPs, with new candidates in Barabanki and Kaisarganj.

From the INDIA bloc, the Congress has nominated K L Sharma in Amethi, Tanuj Punia in Barabanki, and Pradeep Jain ‘Aditya’ in Jhansi. The Samajwadi Party (SP) candidates are contesting in the remaining seats.

Key Contests

  • Lucknow: Defence Minister Rajnath Singh is aiming for a fourth term, facing SP’s Ravidas Mehrotra.
  • Amethi: Union Minister Smriti Irani is contesting against Congress’s K L Sharma.
  • Kaisarganj: BJP’s Karan Bhushan Singh is up against SP’s Bhagat Ram.
  • Faizabad: BJP’s Lallu Singh, seeking a third term, is pitted against SP’s Awadhesh Prasad.
  • Hamirpur: BJP’s Kunwar Pushpendra Singh Chandel is contesting for a third term against SP’s Ajendra Singh Lodhi.
  • Gonda: BJP’s Kirti Vardhan Singh is eyeing a fifth term, facing SP’s Shreya Verma.
  • Banda: R K Singh Patel (BJP) is seeking a third term against Krishna Devi Shivshankar Patel (SP).
  • Kaushambi: BJP’s Vinod Kumar Sonkar is aiming for a hat-trick of wins against SP’s Pushpendra Saroj.
  • Jalaun: Bhanu Pratap Singh Verma (BJP) is contesting for a sixth term against SP’s Narayan Das Ahirwar.

Polling Context

The fifth phase of polling is crucial as it encompasses several key constituencies with high-profile candidates. The results from these regions will be pivotal in determining the overall outcome of the Lok Sabha elections. With a significant voter turnout in the early hours, the enthusiasm among the electorate is evident.


As polling continues throughout the day, the focus remains on ensuring a smooth and fair voting process. The stakes are high for all parties involved, with prominent leaders and new contenders vying for the electorate’s support. The outcomes of these contests will shape the political landscape of Uttar Pradesh and, by extension, the nation.

Stay tuned for further updates as the day progresses and more detailed turnout figures and polling outcomes become available.

0 comment
0 FacebookTwitterPinterestEmail

Our News Portal

We provide accurate, balanced, and impartial coverage of national and international affairs, focusing on the activities and developments within the parliament and its surrounding political landscape. We aim to foster informed public discourse and promote transparency in governance through our news articles, features, and opinion pieces.


Subscribe my Newsletter for new blog posts, tips & new photos. Let's stay updated!

Laest News

@2023 – All Right Reserved. Designed and Developed by The Parliament News

Are you sure want to unlock this post?
Unlock left : 0
Are you sure want to cancel subscription?
Update Required Flash plugin