Home Blog Lok Sabha Elections 2024: Delhi’s Political Heavyweights Cast Votes Amid High Security

Lok Sabha Elections 2024: Delhi’s Political Heavyweights Cast Votes Amid High Security

by theparliamentnews.com
0 comment

Polling for the seven parliamentary constituencies in Delhi commenced this morning as part of the sixth phase of the Lok Sabha elections. Voters queued up early at polling stations, undeterred by the scorching heat and tight security arrangements, an official confirmed.

Weather and Preparations

The India Meteorological Department has issued a “yellow alert” for the day, forecasting that temperatures could soar to a sweltering 44 degrees Celsius. In response, the Delhi election department has made extensive preparations to ensure voter comfort and safety in the heat. Despite the early hour, many voters were seen lining up outside polling stations well before voting began at 7 a.m.

Voter Demographics

A total of 1.52 crore voters are eligible to cast their ballots across more than 13,000 polling booths in the city. This includes 82 lakh male voters, 69 lakh female voters, and 1,228 voters identifying as the third gender. Notably, there are over 2.52 lakh first-time voters participating in this election, highlighting the growing engagement of the youth in the democratic process.

Key Candidates and Constituencies

The electoral battle in Delhi is fiercely contested, with major political parties fielding prominent candidates across the seven constituencies:

  • Aam Aadmi Party (AAP): Kuldeep Kumar (East Delhi), Mahabal Mishra (West Delhi), Somnath Bharti (New Delhi), Sahi Ram Pahalwan (South Delhi).
  • Congress: J.P. Agarwal (Chandni Chowk), Kanhaiya Kumar (North East Delhi), Udit Raj (North West Delhi).
  • BJP: Manoj Tiwari (North East Delhi), Ramvir Singh Bidhuri (South Delhi), Bansuri Swaraj (New Delhi), Harsh Deep Malhotra (East Delhi), Yogendra Chandolia (North West Delhi), Praveen Khandelwal (Chandni Chowk), Kamaljeet Sehrawat (West Delhi).

Historical Context and Current Dynamics

The BJP has a stronghold in Delhi, having won all seven seats in the 2014 and 2019 general elections with significant margins. The party is aiming for a third consecutive clean sweep. However, the opposition INDIA bloc, comprising the Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) and the Congress, has fielded joint candidates for the first time, posing a formidable challenge to the ruling party. The seat-sharing agreement allocates four seats to AAP and three to Congress.

High-Profile Voters

High-profile leaders, including External Affairs Minister S. Jaishankar, Congress leaders Rahul Gandhi and Sonia Gandhi, were among the early voters, emphasizing the significance of this electoral phase.

Security and Conduct

The polling process is being conducted under stringent security measures to ensure a smooth and fair election. Officials have assured that all necessary precautions are in place to handle any eventuality arising from the extreme weather conditions.


As the day progresses, the voter turnout and the efficiency of the arrangements will be closely monitored. This election is critical not just for Delhi but for the national political landscape, given the high stakes and the intense competition among the major political parties. With AAP and Congress joining forces against the BJP, the outcome in Delhi could significantly influence the overall results of the Lok Sabha elections 2024.

You may also like

Leave a Comment

Our News Portal

We provide accurate, balanced, and impartial coverage of national and international affairs, focusing on the activities and developments within the parliament and its surrounding political landscape. We aim to foster informed public discourse and promote transparency in governance through our news articles, features, and opinion pieces.


Subscribe my Newsletter for new blog posts, tips & new photos. Let's stay updated!

Laest News

@2023 – All Right Reserved. Designed and Developed by The Parliament News

Are you sure want to unlock this post?
Unlock left : 0
Are you sure want to cancel subscription?
Update Required Flash plugin